Day 24: Ichiran, Fukuoka

20121201-162050.jpg
Back in Fukuoka, home of tonkotsu ramen. I thought about going on a ramen adventure to the city of Kurume about forty minutes southwest of Fukuoka city, where I’d been told one can find the richest, most intensely porky tonkotsu ramen in all of Kyushu. But I was kind of tired and sweaty after a day of rushing to Incheon Airport in my big brown coat and heavy wool scarf and nearly missing my flight back from Seoul. So I stayed in Fukuoka. It wasn’t like I didn’t have options.

When I was last in Fukuoka, Koji had told me about Ichiran. Go there, he said, if you like ramen, you’ll like that place. You have to decide how you like everything though: the texture of the noodles, the intensity of the soup broth, white or green pieces of negi, etc.

Ichiran has a number of branches throughout Fukuoka (and possibly elsewhere in Japan, though I’m typing this on my phone and can’t be bothered googling right now). I went to the one Koji recommended, near the Tenjin subway station.

It’s tucked away down this little alley, with a big red lantern and a ticket vending machine outside. You insert your money, punch in your order, and are led inside along a corridor of cubicles to your seat: walled on both sides to keep distractions out, a bamboo curtain separates your booth from the kitchen. It’s kind of like those study cubicles you might find at a university library: this is serious ramen, ramen you’re meant to concentrate on. Also it’s a very good setup for a solo diner who wants to take notes and photos to her heart’s desire.

Once seated, you’re given a piece of paper on which you customise your bowl of noodles: how hard or soft you want your noodles, how light or strong you want the soup flavour, how much garlic, how much chilli paste, etc. I picked the middle of the road option for almost everything, except the noodles, but more on that later.
20121201-162119.jpg
First impressions: yep, this is serious ramen, serious tonkotsu to be precise. The thick, milky soup gave off the unmistakeably porky smell that’s typical of a rich, kotteri tonkotsu soup; the first spoonful was one of the best first spoonfuls I’ve had on this trip. It has a soup-like consistency but a gravy-like mouthfeel; it’s creamy, almost peanut-buttery, you can taste the marrow and collagen that have broken down over hours of cooking into deep, rich flavour.

The noodles are thin and straight and hard – I’ve ordered the extra-hard noodles for which this Tenjin branch is known – “on the dente side of al dente”, I’ve scrawled in my notes, whatever that means. Toeing the line between cooked and undercooked, maybe. But they’re really good. And perhaps because of the low moisture content or the straight shape, the noodles don’t carry too much of the intensely flavourful soup with each slurp, keeping the overall experience from becoming just too overwhelming.

The toppings are simple: soft, tender charsiu slices, sliced negi onions (I’ve picked the green portion of the onion), a dab of chilli paste that adds a pleasantly prickly heat.

Soon I’ve finished the noodles and it’s time for a kaedama. The good thing about having a broth so intense is that it takes longer to finish: perfect for a second helping of noodles. I tear off a little sheet of paper labelled “替玉” hanging in my cubicle, pick how hard or soft I want my noodles (this time, I go for “kihon” – Ichiran’s standard) and press the little button in front of me. A bell rings out, the bamboo curtain is raised, the paper slip taken away and soon after, a bowl of plain noodles arrives at my cubicle.
20121201-163025.jpg
These are still thin and straight and relatively al dente, but with more give than the extra-hard noodles. I like them a lot. Before I know it, they’ve disappeared. Rats. I still have soup left.

So I do what seems like the only rational decision at this point: tear off another kaedama slip, order another helping of noodles. And, for the sake of completeness, I order the extra-soft noodles. These are an entirely different experience altogether. Almost overcooked, bordering on slimily chewy, but they’re an ideal vehicle for the rest of that gravy-like soup, which now clings for dear life to each clump of noodles as I slurp.

20121201-163047.jpg
I finish the noodles. I’ve nearly finished the soup. Just a spoonful or two remains at the bottom, and as I drain my bowl I notice on the bottom of the bowl is written, in gold lettering: この一滴は最高の喜びです。Which roughly translates to: this single drop is the greatest of joys.

Truer words were never written on the bottom of a ramen bowl. I won’t be forgetting that last drop of soup anytime soon.

20121201-162307.jpg
20121201-162920.jpg
20121201-163113.jpg
20121201-163624.jpg

6 thoughts on “Day 24: Ichiran, Fukuoka

  1. Looks good! By the way, do you know “Shibaraku” ramen shop in Nishijin? Nishijin is in the west part of Fukuoka where Seinan Univ and Shuyukan High school are. I went to Shuyukan high school. The shop is legendary among the locals there.

    • Thanks for the tip! It was my first time visiting Fukuoka and I hadn’t heard of Shibaraku before! Didn’t make it to Nishijin. I will have to check it out next time I’m in Japan 🙂

  2. Pingback: Fukuoka | i heart rachabees

  3. Thanks for the post, great help reliving my own Ichiran experience. Man, I’m salivating as I type this – spent a night in Fukuoka back in April and had a blast slurping away at their Hakata branch. It was my fourth time in Japan but probably the first time I ate in a proper restaurant (previously my travel dinners were limited to what I could take away from the local konbini).

    I loved it so much that I specifically sought out one of their branches when I got to Tokyo later in the trip, just so that I could have my ramen fix. I remember they were selling do-it-yourself ramen kits with their signature broth in powder form; I suppose you can imagine how much I now regret not buying a box or two (or twenty) to take home.

    Incidentally, I never did slurp all the way to the last drop (mum keeps telling me to mind how much salt I eat), so I missed that message at the bottom of the bowl. Rats.

    Also a word of thanks to tukusigal for the tip about Shibaraku. Ever since Ichiran I’ve been determined to seek out these hole-in-the-wall wonders and that’s a good tip to keep in mind next time I’m in Kyushu.

    Cheers.

  4. Pingback: Field Report: Fukuoka (09 April 2013) | Within striking distance

Leave a Reply

